HomeAbout the TennerysPR FriendlyReviews and GiveawaysContact the TennerysToday with the Tennerys on FacebookTricia on TwitterTricia on Google+Tricia on PinterestTricia on InstagramToday with the Tennerys on Networked BlogsToday with the Tennerys on BlogLovinToday with the Tennerys on Hello CottonToday with the Tennerys RSS FeedE-mail the TennerysHTML Map

Friday, May 4, 2012

I'm Tricia from North Alabama

Welcome to Kelly's Korner readers.   This week's topic is about making new friends and telling about yourself.  Feel free to follow my blog and comment on any posts and just stay awhile. It's kind of hard to even start when I'm telling about myself. I'm a country girl living in a small city. I'm a wife and a mom. I'm a Christian.

I was born to wonderful parents in the small city of Muscle Shoals, Alabama, where I lived until I was three. My father decided to further his education, he already held a degree from the University of North Alabama, and attend Auburn University as a pharmacy student. My mom, who also had a degree from UNA, wanted to pursue her Masters in Accounting at Auburn. So, we moved when I was three to Opelika, Alabama, which is located right beside Auburn. Opelika is actually bigger than Auburn.

I attended school and made tons of wonderful friends until the age of fifteen when my grandparents, my dad's parents, both had hear attacks within months of each other. I finished my freshman year at Opelika High School, and moved back where I was born, yep that small town. I went from a 6A High School to a lot smaller 5A high school.  I went from a major football driven city to "forced pep rally" school.  I was in shock to see that pep rally attendance was required, in Opelika, they were outstanding and filled with school spirit.

I had a couple of friends there because I had spent summers in Muscle Shoals, but it wasn't "enough" friends to take away the pain of leaving behind my life. I would never change the move as I am who I am because of it and I got some precious time with my grandparents before they passed away.

I gave birth to my first born son in an emergency situation when I was only seventeen and he went to Heaven seven hours later.  I recently posted about that here.  It was then that I knew God was working in my life.  I had my beautiful daughter in November of 2001. She was my motivation to do something with my life. In the summer of 2002, I started attending a local community college.  I graduated with my Associate of Science in Business Administration with Honors.

And that's where my motivation began to drift, I had moved up to assistant manager at a local pizza place and I was pretty happy with my life. Later, after changing jobs I decided to take courses in pharmacy, all the time knowing I couldn't move away to go to pharmacy school. In June of 2006, I drove to Birmingham and sat for my Board Exam to become a Pharmacy Technician. I passed and now I have the initials CPhT behind my name. Years later and I'm a stay at home mom.

Yes, all that education and I'm staying at home. In August of 2010 we welcomed in a baby boy, who is very "special." He's twenty months and learning sign language. He can't talk because "his brain is functioning at such a rapid pace that it would have to slow down to form words." At least that what the doctor and speech therapist have told us. He has learned to say and sign "no," and that makes me very proud. It's one day at a time with him, I can't change his schedule or it's chaos for three days. He's just "special."

My husband is from a very very small city in Tennessee, so the small city that we live in is actually pretty big for him.  Bless his heart, we live only five minutes from Wal-Mart and he still asks, "do you need me to get anything while I'm in town?"  I love him so much and he has completed me and our life together has been great.  I never pictured myself getting married because divorces happen everyday now, but I knew by month three that I wanted to have his last name, that I wanted him to be the last thing I saw every night and the first thing I saw every morning.  We made it a reality when our daughter started Kindergarten, that's been almost five years.  I knew he had my heart, but as much as I loved him on our wedding day, somehow I love him more than that now.

My daughter has been a cheerleader for 6 years and has been playing basketball and softball for five years each. We stay on the go. I'm an only child and my parents only live three miles away. My dad is disabled and not able to drive.  My parents are still happily married and have been for almost 38 years now. I love that they are in love so much that my husband and I used their wedding date as our wedding date. My husband's parents are divorced and both live in Tennessee. We aren't as close to them as I'd like to be, but with a busy schedule and gas prices we do what we can.

My husband works for Wal-Mart and allows me to stay home. Yes, I could get a job with my education, but it would be at the expense of putting AJ in a daycare that would not only be expensive, but might set him back some in his communication. I'm able to stay home and go to appointments and go to our daughter's school events and not miss a moment. We aren't rich, but we make it. We have family and that's what matters. 

I am who I am because of everything that I have been through.  I try to be a great friend to those that I'm close to.  Life is a journey.  I love the journey that I am on and wouldn't change it for the world.  I love staying at home and spending all the time I can with my family.  I get so wrapped up in them that sometimes we even forget what time it is.  Our little family is now complete: with one girl, one boy, two dogs, one turtle,  six fish, and a snail that recently had babies.  It's one big grand adventure, but it's my life.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Comments help me get to know you better, thanks for leaving your thoughtful thoughts. Have a blessed day! xoxo